Twelve Animals

Astor Piazzolla & Osvaldo Pugliese - Finally Together

Astor Piazzolla & Osvaldo Pugliese - Finally Together (Amsterdan 1989)

01. Buenos Aires hora cero

02. Tanguedia III

03. Milonga del angel

04. Camorra III

05. Preludio y fuga

06. Sex-tet

07. Luna

08. La yumba //Adios Nonino

:: Astor Piazzolla & Osvaldo Pugliese - Finally Together ::

Annie Ross sings a song with Mulligan! 1958

Annie Ross: Sing a Song with Mulligan
Label: Pacific Jazz 1253 12" LP 1959

Design: Armand Acosta Photo: Charles Stewart

01 I Feel Pretty
02 I’ve Grown Accustomed To Your Face
03 All Of You
04 Give Me The Simple Life
05 This Is Always
06 My Old Flame
07 This Time The Dream’s On Me
08 Let Ther Be Love
09 Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea
10 How About You
11 I Guess I’ll Have To Change My Plan
12 This Is Always
13 It Don’t Mean A Thing (If It Ain’t Got That Swing)
14 The Lady’s In Love With You
15 You Turned The Tables On Me
16 I’ve Grown Accustomed To Your Face

Annie Ross (Vocals)
Chet Baker and or Art Farmer ( Trumpet)
Henry Grimes and or Bill Crow (Bass)
Gerry Mulligan (Sax (Baritone),
Dave Bailey (Drums)

Track 1-5: Recorded December 1957, NYC
Track 7-10, 13: Recorded 11 and 17 December 1957, NYC
Track 14: Recorded 17 December 1957, NYC
Track 6, 11, 12, 15, 16: previously unreleased (available only on CD of Pacific Jazz / EMI Manhattan CDP 7 46852 2)

:: Annie Ross Sing A Song With Mulligan ::

Singer Annie Ross’ first solo album after joining Lambert, Hendricks & Ross finds her at the peak of her powers. Ross is joined by two versions of the Gerry Mulligan Quartet with either Chet Baker or Art Farmer on trumpet, Bill Crow or Henry Grimes on bass, and drummer Dave Bailey. For this CD reissue, there are also five previously unissued selections and one that was originally on a sampler. Annie Ross is at her best (and most appealing) on “I’ve Grown Accustomed to Your Face,” “Give Me the Simple Life,” “How About You,” and “The Lady’s in Love With You,” but all 16 selections are quite rewarding and her interplay with baritonist Mulligan is consistently memorable. This CD is a must-have for your essential jazz collections.
~ (Scott Yanow, AMG)

Follow by email